Index  •  FAQ  •  Search  

It is currently Sat Apr 27, 2024 11:49 am

This is a static archive the Twin Cities Carry forum, maintained as a public service by the current forum of record, The Minnesota Carry Forum.

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 38 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
 SOB holsters 
 Post subject: SOB holsters
PostPosted: Mon Jan 15, 2007 4:09 pm 

Ok...now I know this will probably open a can of worms. As alot of people don't like SOB carry. I carry a Springfield 1911A1 Loaded Champion .45.

I carry Small Of the Back, Inside the Wasteband.
For me it works the best. I carry while at work. Since I work as an Auto Mechanic and I'm in and out of all my pockets, leaning, etc etc etc ALL day long, I needed something that was easy to conceal and would not be getting in the way.

The holster I have works well, but due to my hands being fairly large I need to draw and reposition my hand slightly. It has the barrel of the weapon following my back, and the butt would face towards my strong side. This gives me a palm out retreval.

I have tried the FBI cant where the butt of the gun faces up and is diagnal across your back. I don't know how you guys do it, but my arm will not naturally reach that way to properly grip the weapon.

While I was waiting for the holster I have now, I had an Uncle Mikes holster that worked OK, but the thumb break was the wrong way and the belt clip would occasionally not hold onto the belt. That holster I could grip the weapon properly, but alas it was an Uncle Mikes and in 6 months it was worn out. I could see a good leather holster, made for the gun, with a good thumb break and a good belt clip, in this fashion to work well for me.

Anyway...sorry for the long post....
Do any of you have any advise for me?

Profile E-mail  

Post subject: Re: SOB holsters
PostPosted: Mon Jan 15, 2007 4:33 pm 
The Man

DieselDood wrote:

1. Never fall on your back.