Index  •  FAQ  •  Search  

It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 12:26 pm

This is a static archive the Twin Cities Carry forum, maintained as a public service by the current forum of record, The Minnesota Carry Forum.

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 43 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
 Total Newbie Needs Help Understanding Shooting Range Rules 
 Post subject: Total Newbie Needs Help Understanding Shooting Range Rules
PostPosted: Sun Jul 19, 2009 8:20 pm 

I just bought my first handgun - a Sig P226 9mm. It just so happens this was the first gun I have ever fired in my life (I'm 37 years old). I shot it during my handgun basic's course and absolutely loved it and was hitting the targets really good so I decided I would make that my first handgun purchase. Now it's time to break the baby in! I'm a little nervous about heading to the shooting range as this will be my first time and I don't want to do anything wrong (legal or otherwise) so I've got a handful of questions that I'm sure all you seasoned pros will get a kick out of;) I hate being a newbie but I guess you have to start somewhere. At any rate, here are my questions...

1. When transporting my gun to the shooting range, I understand it has to be stored in a case and in the trunk of my car. My instructor (Teresa from Bill's North) said there are lots of interpretations of the law, but she advised we carry the ammo in a separate case/bag and have that somewhere in the car - not in the trunk. However, later in the class she mentioned that if you had a shooter's bag, you could just keep everything in it and just have the bag in your trunk. What is the protocol here? And is it o.k. for me to have loaded spare cartridges in the shooter's bag or do I have to wait to load them at the range?