Index  •  FAQ  •  Search  

It is currently Mon Apr 15, 2024 11:33 pm

This is a static archive the Twin Cities Carry forum, maintained as a public service by the current forum of record, The Minnesota Carry Forum.

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 7 posts ] 
 guitar suggestions 
 Post subject: guitar suggestions
PostPosted: Sun Jun 28, 2009 7:42 pm 
Forum Moderator

1. some 40 years ago I was trying to learn some basic guitar technique and had a Gibson ES330TD and Fender Twin Reverb amp; at my very best I was a loud, but very mediocore player;

2. being a poor college student, I sold the guitar/amp combo (which in 40+ years of hindsight may have been a poor idea) because (a) I needed the $$ and (b) I was too lazy to work at getting better

3. now being more age enhanced and (hopefully) more mature on what is needed to get from mediocore to merely average, I am inclined to try again;

4. because of a lingering fear that the lazy gene will kick in, I am thinking I want to get a "good" guitar/amp combo so that (a) I give myself a better chance of being happy with my play; and (b) it might be easier to resell and bale from a good setup rather than one that is just cheap

5. my hands are normal sized, but with the Gibson I did have issues with some frets and string spacing;

6. I am leaning towards a Gibson Les Paul Studio and Fender Blues Jr. or Twin Reverb amp (I prefer the tone of a tube amp); or if not the Les Paul, then perhaps an American made Fender Strat.

From the guitar players here that are beyond the newbie level, what might be your suggestion given the parameters that (a) I don't mind spending something for quality, something that will hold resale decently...

Contact us to schedule a class for you and your friends, and check our website for more information http://shootingsafely.com

Profile E-mail  

Post subject: Re: guitar suggestions
PostPosted: Sun Jun 28, 2009 9:07 pm