Index  •  FAQ  •  Search  

It is currently Fri Mar 29, 2024 3:33 am

This is a static archive the Twin Cities Carry forum, maintained as a public service by the current forum of record, The Minnesota Carry Forum.

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 26 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
 Computer Repair or Advice 
 Post subject: Computer Repair or Advice
PostPosted: Mon Jul 13, 2009 7:10 am 
Journeyman Member

I can fix nearly any computer issue you may have or offer advice on nearly anything computer related. I have 25 years of experience and my rates and work are better than any of the service you can get elsewhere. Give me a shot (pardon the pun)

Post subject: Re: Computer Repair or Advice
PostPosted: Mon Jul 13, 2009 2:40 pm 

I'll take you up on that as I've been meaning to post here anyway seeing as how many of the members are IS and IT knowledgable.

I've got a Samsung Syncmaster 19" (or so) LCD monitor that is about 4 to 5 years old. Won't turn on or stay on if it comes on. When we push the on/off button, it flashes for a split second, but then goes right back off. A couple of times it has stayed on but then won't work again later. I've hooked up other monitors to the computer and they work fine so I know this isn't a problem arising from the computer's video card or otherwise. I figure it's probably lived its useful life, but if there was an easy fix to it, I'd try that. Would appreciate your advice as to whether you think it's worth fixing.

PM me if you want to take this offline.

Thanks in advance,

Profile E-mail  

PostPosted: Mon Jul 13, 2009 2:50 pm 
Longtime Regular

It's the LCD backlight. It's hosed. It's probably more expensive to fix than to replace.

Profile E-mail  

PostPosted: Mon Jul 13, 2009 5:38 pm 
Journeyman Member